sisterscamino2012's Blog

Don"t pack your fears!

Brenda’s Journey home October 15, 2012

Filed under: stages — sisterscamino2012 @ 4:42 pm

I left Astorga by cab after saying goodbye to Yvonne and Olga. Arrived at the bus station and met a lady from Germany and we traveled to Madrid together and then took a cab to the airport. She was dropped at terminal 4s and I proceeded to terminal 4.

I looked in vain for British Airways and after speaking with a very tall English man, he told me that Iberia and British had merged I found an Iberian Sales counter.  I talked with a not so nice sales lady who sent me to a pay phone to call British Air.  After trying 3 phones with no luck I decided to try another sales desk. This lady actually let me use her phone and I changed my ticket to leave the next day.

With the help of a lovely married couple who spoke English I was able to have my backpack wrapped so that I could check it in the next day.  There was a nice young man who heard that I needed a hotel close to the airport for the night.  He called someone he knew and arranged for me to be picked up at the airport, taken to the hotel, given breakfast the next morning and taken back to the airport all for 65e.  I said sign me up!

I checked in at the hotel and then walked a couple of blocks to a bar/cafe and had a nice meal, then returned to my room, showered and slept.  Returning to the airport the next morning I checked in and got my seat assignments, flew to London (almost missed my flight), then flew home to Seattle on the 29th of September.

Janet and Sara my niece were there to pick me up and we promptly went to Red Robin for a hamburger.  So good to be home!

I would spend the next two weeks following Yvonne’s blog to Santiago.

 

One Response to “Brenda’s Journey home”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Your journey home reminds me to take time to really help people when they ask. Those helpful people were like little angels to you.


Leave a comment