sisterscamino2012's Blog

Don"t pack your fears!

Pedrouzo to Santiago October 9, 2012

Filed under: stages — sisterscamino2012 @ 4:44 pm

Today I will be in Santiago. You walk with this as a goal but when it becomes a reality pilgrims including myself find it hard to believe. I had a difficult time finding sleep last night, but once I got there it was the deepest sleep of the journey.
Many pilgrims on the road today. We all seem to want to slow the process by stopping at all the bars or cafes in each town. Remember a bar in Spain is a cafe.
It seems as though any face you recognize from any day on the way becomes a very familiar face. The pilgrims become very familiar and friendly. I meet the Brazilians about one hour out and we all stop to have a cafe con leche. I wait till they leave and decide to walk alone. It has been raining since we left this morning and is supposed to rain all day. It is a soft Seattle rain and not a problem. There is a part of me that wants to get to Santiago as soon as possible and a part that wants to delay the arrival.
I enter the place where there is a artistic structure in honor of pilgrims. A lot of buses with tour groups here. There is a all church where I get my second stamp of the day.
And then we walk into the suburbs of Santiago.
I met up with the Brazilians again and we walk into the area where St James Cathedral is and who should appear but Francesco.
I take pictures of the Brazilians and everyone heads to the peregrino office for our Compostella.
Lots of emotion from everyone. Paulo helps me find a room at a hostel and invites me to join there group for lunch. I agree and go to check in at the hostel. I leave to join them and run into Fredy who had just arrived. We agree to meet at the cathedral formats the next day. I look and cannot find the restaurant but run into Fredy again who is now looking for a room. I take him to where I am staying and they have a room. We contact Lawrence later and we invite Francesco to join us for dinner. It was a good night.

 

2 Responses to “Pedrouzo to Santiago”

  1. Brenda Says:

    So happy to here you arrived safe in Santiago. Your blog today brought alot of emotion for me. Wish I was there to go to Mass with you. See you soon. T1

  2. Mike Says:

    You”ve done it!!!!! What a journey…was the wait a long one to get your Compestella? How gratifying that must have been…I can only imagine.


Leave a comment